ABOUT US

Latin American Fund for Irrigated Rice, FLAR

The Latin American Fund for irrigated Rice, FLAR, is a public-private partnership that seeks to improve the competitiveness and sustainability of rice production systems, with an eco-efficiency approach.

The FLAR brings together various organizations linked to rice in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, the Dominican Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and Venezuela, as well as of the International Center for Tropical Agriculture, CIAT, as a strategic partner.

COMPETITIVENESS AND SUSTAINABILITY

Rice Breeding

Rice Breeding lines with favorable characteristics for rice production in the tropical and temperate zones of LAC.

Hybrids

It facilitates access to rice hybrids technology, through research and public-private partnerships of the member countries of the Rice Hybrids for Latin America (HIAAL) consortium.

Agronomy and Water Harvesting

Improved crop management practices, rice / soybean rotation is proposed for the improvement and conservation of soils.

Transforming rainfed agriculture to irrigation through rainwater harvesting to mitigate the effects of climate change, improve food security and reduce poverty in rural areas.

Our members

FLAR has 17 partner countries and CIAT as a strategic member.

Work team

Eduardo Graterol Matute

Maribel Cruz Gallego

Yamid Sanabria

e.j.graterol@cgiar.org

maribel.cruz@cgiar.org

y.sanabria@cgiar.org

The FLAR has a valuable technical team and field and laboratory workers who have specialized in key tasks for the operation of processes in rice genetic improvement, adoption of technologies, institutional strengthening and knowledge management

Director Ejecutivo

Edgar Corredor Solano

e.corredor@cgiar.org

Strategic projects, strengthening of the FLAR Network, administrative management, knowledge socialization spaces

Characterization of germplasm before biotic and abiotic stresses, characterization and multiplication of lines, nurseries for FLAR-Temperate, strategic projects

Crossings and synthesis of populations, characterization of germplasm before abiotic stresses, characterization and multiplication of lines, nurseries for FLAR-Tropic

Crossings and synthesis of populations, characterization of germplasm before abiotic stresses, characterization and multiplication of lines, nurseries for FLAR-Temperate

Work team

Luciano Carmona

Gilberto Dotto

l.carmona@cgiar.org

giba.dotto@gmail.com

The FLAR has a valuable technical team and field and laboratory workers who have specialized in key tasks for the operation of processes in rice genetic improvement, adoption of technologies, institutional strengthening and knowledge management

Santiago Jaramillo Cardona

s.jaramillo@cgiar.org

Programa de agronomía, proyectos estratégicos

Transformación de sistemas de secano a riego, proyectos estratégicos

Consultor en transformación de sistemas de secano a riego, proyectos estratégicos

Katerine Loaiza De La Pava

j.k.loaiza@cgiar.org

Caracterización de la calidad de granos

Work team

Alexandra Cardona Libreros

Ximena Escobar Valdés

Érika Fernanda Giraldo Ossa

a.x.cardona@cgiar.org

x.escobar@cgiar.org

e.Giraldo@cgiar.org

The FLAR has a valuable technical team and field and laboratory workers who have specialized in key tasks for the operation of processes in rice genetic improvement, adoption of technologies, institutional strengthening and knowledge management

Joseph Alcalde Gutierrez

j.s.alcalde@cgiar.org

Soporte a la gestión administrativa

Espacios de socialización de conocimientos, comunicación y herramientas de divulgación para agricultores y técnicos

Soporte a la gestión administrativa

Caracterización de la calidad de granos